Posted by: sisubeads | October 1, 2013

A tribute to the little angels and their families

This is a tough one.  As I dare to breech a world I thankfully know nothing about.  I have two healthy children.  Losing a child is my worst fear.   But, today is October first,  the beginning of National Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month.  

I have looked around at blogs searching for the right thing to say to a grieving parent, something that would bring some comfort.  I have found so many wrong things to say, but no lists of the right things to say.    I don’t know if there are any words of comfort in this situation.  But, today, I honor your little angels and send you my love,   

Many of you know Gina and I started Sisu Beads memorial jewelry a few years ago to honor our friend that had passed.   But, today I want to share with you my other passion, Bella Baby Announcements.    

I have made birth announcements for over thirteen years.  During that time, I have done memorial cards by special request. I think about every time, the mom would tell me how difficult it was to find a memorial card and I should put baby memorial cards on my website.   They wanted a beautiful way to honor and celebrate their sons and daughters and let everybody know their baby has a name and is not a secret that should be forgotten.   And yet, it seemed so wrong to sell something to a grieving parent.

I now realize it is worse to pretend that infant loss doesn’t exist.  Parents of angel babies still want to celebrate their baby. Even though there is so much pain, their baby still brought and continues to bring love and joy to their lives.   I am proud to say I  now display baby memorial cards at Bella Baby Announcements.  

While it seems odd at first,  Birth announcements and memorial jewelry aren’t  at opposite ends of the spectrum. They both celebrate the spirit. That is where all the love resides.  

Responses

  1. I think what you are doing is great. From a mother that has lost I can reassure you that it is not odd what you are doing but wonderful to see a company willing to talk about and support a topic that seems taboo. There are many wrongs like you said when it comes to the loss of a baby but i feel this is a right, Thanks for supporting those of us that are going through the worst pain imaginable ❤

    • Thank you, that means the world to us.

  2. what a wonderful service you are providing. My heart goes out to those who have lost babies, unimaginable. Thank you for visiting my blog!

    • Thank you, I will be visiting your blog again. Did you scroll down to any of the RR storie? You will love Kimi, Lapsi and Fiona.


Leave a Reply

Categories

