Posted by: sisubeads | November 11, 2013

Thank you to our Veterans.

Thank you. I grew up in a military family. My dad is a Marine. Retired, but once a Marine always a Marine. He is still very active at MCRD as a docent. He fought in the Korean war. That sounds like such an understatement, there is such a greater story to be told. The Korea Room at MCRD has a huge photo of my dad on the wall. It is my favorite photo of my dad. So I kind of owe this to my dad more than the way it would be expected. My dad has always said. “If you love your freedom, thank a vet.” I have this embedded in my brain and have a distinct memory of the first time I remember him saying this. It is because I asked him who Evette was. In my defense I was about 8 years old.

Artifact[1]

My dad is the young man on the left in that photo, and in the far right as the real person in this photo. He received the Navy Cross and the Purple Heart. Thanks Dad.

I also want to thank my papa.  I am a Finnish citizen. OK dad I am a U.S. citizen before I became a Finnish one. I have dual citizenship as a birthright. My mother (who I adore beyond words) was born and raised in Finland. She was also raised in a military family. My parents met at the US Embassy in Moscow during the Cold War.  I thank my Finnish family for having SISU, and for giving me some. Kiitos.

Kiitos paljon papa. Mina rakastan sinua.

IMG_0270

To my papa, my dad, my cousins both US and Suomi and to all the veterans, thank you.

Responses

  1. Your blog is the only one other than my own where I have ever seen use of the word “docent.”

    I was a military brat, too. Air Force. I had always been told that my dad died in the Korean War. I didn’t find out until just a couple of years ago while doing genealogical research on the Internet that he died of a self-inflicted gunshot wound. Interesting that the family kept that from me all these years, even into adulthood. I was six when that happened, so I can understand keeping it from a child of that age, but come on. At some point the truth should be told. Finding out like I did was really disheartening.

  2. Oh my gosh, I am so sorry. I am sure everyone thought they were doing the best for you. I would have thought maybe into adulthood it would be shared.. I think maybe some things are just so painful for people to open up about. I hope you are OK. I am truly sorry, I get it. Almost makes it harder finding out by doing research. I am sure it was a way to try to protect you. That is so sad.


Leave a Reply

Categories

